The Between

Few people enjoy experiencing the Between.

Quite often, though, that is where I live. In the Between. Between what? Well, pain and healing, mostly. Pain is a condition universal to man, and I usually have very little control over when or how I experience it. Pain can take the form of sarcasm, gossip, manipulation, or betrayal. It can be the illness or death of a loved one. Or, maybe my pain is the result of my own baggage and dysfunction.

Healing, though, is a choice – a necessary choice if I want to move on and live a healthy, non-bitter life. When I experience pain, I want healing. But before I can heal, I must experience the Between. So what is the Between?

The Between is that span of time that comes after the pain and before the healing.

For me, it may be a time of anger, isolation, or withdrawal. Maybe I sulk or resort to some self-destructive behavior. I cry, sleep, pray, yell, or do absolutely nothing. I hide, make excuses, go numb…. my reaction to pain can differ based on the situation, except for one thing – the waiting. Always, the waiting.

Why must I wait for healing? Why must I go through the Between? Is there any purpose in that lonely, agonizing space? And if there is purpose in the Between, what is it?

I think it’s hope.

Someday, when I’m completely healed from all of my pain and dysfunction, I will no longer need hope. To walk in total freedom from pain and suffering requires no hope. And I look forward to that day. But for now, I am learning to hope in the Between.

What do I hope for in the Between? Peace. Redemption. Rest. Comfort. Love. It can be scary to hope, but without it healing comes slowly, or not at all. So I have a choice – when I experience the Between, I can despair or I can hope.

Between the two, I choose hope.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Between

  1. Jenn says:

    Needed that today. Good thoughts.

  2. Carissa says:

    joining you in the “between”. your post makes me think of one of my favorite hallmark cards: “HOPE – it’s that beautiful place between the way things were and the way things are yet to be.” i so enjoy our voice. keep writing!

Leave a Reply

