Why I Believe

I know this is crazy, but I’m posting twice in one week. I’m out of control and I don’t care who knows it.

Easter weekend seems like a great time to write about my huge decision years ago to stop trying to earn God’s love and just accept what he offered me – a Savior by the name of Yahweh – or as most of us Westerners know him, Jesus. It’s a decision that I’ve never regretted, and the reason for that has everything to do with Easter.

Let’s just cut to the chase – If Jesus is dead, then I’m a fool.

Only a fool would place her eternal security into the cold hands of a corpse. Only a fool would live her life for a man who couldn’t even save his own. Only a fool would pray to a powerless mortal. Only a fool would believe the lies of a convicted heretic. Only a fool would worship a dead God.

Am I a fool?

Thanks to the Bible, we know more today about a poor carpenter named Jesus than we do about Caesar Agustus, Emperor of the entire Roman Empire:

The Bible isn’t a book; it’s a compilation of 66 ancient historical manuscripts written by 40 authors over a period of about 1,500 years, written in 3 languages on 3 continents. What?

The gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John) are accounts of the life of Jesus, written by the 4 men for whom they’re named. Each account has slight differences and even apparent contradictions when compared to the others. Because of this some might deduce that these differences and contradictions nullify the authenticity of scripture….

….I tend to think that if these 4 accounts, written by 4 different men, were identical in content, it would point to collaboration and fabrication by these men. The differences actually verify the authenticity of these men’s personal accounts. Luke was written 10 years after Matthew; Mark was written 8 years after Luke, and John was written 20 years after Mark.

In the Old Testament there are over 400 prophesies about the life and death of Jesus. He fulfilled every single one. What?

I could go on, but my point is, you should read the Bible. It’s the historic documentation of Jesus entering human history to redeem fallen mankind, and it’s fascinating.

After Jesus rose, he spent time with his followers on 10 different occasions. He was seen by over 500 people. Many of these people were martyred – not for something someone told them or for something they believed, but for something they saw – a dead man walking who claimed to be the Son of God.

I’ve just decided to go with whatever the guy who came back from the dead says.

My faith is not based on false hope or fabricated tales. It is not based on a prophet’s so-called revelation from God or on religious tradition. My faith is based on Jesus’ empty tomb and a bunch of witnesses who saw him after he died. My faith is based on the fact that Jesus’ body has never been found. My faith is based on a documented event that happened in human history – the resurrection. And 2000 years later we’re still talking about it.

Mostly though, I believe because of what Jesus has done and continues to do in my life. And that can’t be quantified or explained. It can only be experienced.

Am I a fool?

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.”  Jim Elliot, Through Gates of Splendor

He is alive! Happy Easter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Believe

  1. Sue Kirsch says:

    Wonderful post Amy. Grandpa’s favorite quote from Jim Elliot. He is risen!

Leave a Reply

